Japan is improving, but can still be a total shitshow!

Look at Pasona (2168.JP).

This is not investment advice. Please read the disclaimer. I might own discussed stock(s) currently or at a later time. I might transact in any securities at any time.

(* marked links only work in my google doc, if you are at it take look at the chosen sub-title ‘all too Japanese’. pdf can be read here)

Pasona reported results on April 12th and communicated intended capital allocation. A complete shit show.🔥 Returns to shareholders from the benefit one stake sale are very small as most capital remains within Pasona, probably generating low returns. Shareholder Returns are a yearly special dividend of JPY 60 until May 2028.This special dividends come on top of ordinary dividends, of currently JPY 15 revised from JPY 35.  ⇒ I sold all my Pasona shares on Apr 15th 2024 with the stock being down -19% from Friday, 12th. I did not trust my feeling/tendency to sell Pasona before earnings, and a slight conclusion to sell* written down on Feb 14. At least I somewhat reduced my position in February. 

The chosen capital allocation is about as worse as it gets, but we were warned*. 

Overall I made a quite good return despite the underwhelming end. With my 2nd and 3rd buy I only bought 60% of the shares I initially bought on Nov 14th* and which I completely sold on Nov 21st. 

Leave a comment